Big Syn Institute is featuring these exceptional filmmakers from all corners of the world who have given visual storytelling a purposeful agenda – to bring positive changes around you and me!

Meet these talented filmmakers, learn about their work and their motivation to make these award-winning films, documentaries and animations that bring to perspective the significance of the 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals for all of humankind.

These films are not just cinematically brilliant, but, via the festival, these relatable films are inspiring individuals and organisations to act on the UN SDGs in their own small or big ways, locally or globally. In this complexly inteconnected world, the actions of all these people inspired to act on the UN SDGs, through the power of films, are improving their lives and that of eveyone else.

For screenings, collaborations or commissions, please contact the Big Syn Institute to be introduced to these filmmakers.

Linda Jacobsen and team. Silence Undone, Short, Official Selection.

Dave Thomas. Aretha, Short, Award Winner.

Sarah Thomas. Scarred, Documentary, Award Winner.

KM Taj Biul Hasan. EDUCATION ON THE BOAT – A NEW HOPE FOR TOMORROW, Documentary, Special Mention Award.

Charlie and Marianne. School Circles, Documentary, 2nd Runner-up, People’s Choice Award.

Melissa Center. R.V, Short, Special Mention Award.

Dave Thomas. 1 B I L L I O N, Documentary, Experimental, Short, Special Mention Award.

Ali Jalali. Guise, Short, Official Selection.

Catya Plate. Meeting MacGuffin, Animation, Special Mention Award.

Arjun Mukherjee. The Saviour, Animation, Award Winner.

Emel Saat. I’m not here, Short, Official Selection.

Novera Hasan Nikkon. Aguan Sun Behind the Horizon, Documentary, 1st Runner-up, People’s Choice Award.

Iara Lee. STALKING CHERNOBYL: exploration after apocalypse, Documentary, Special Mention Award.

Calliopi Villy Kotoula. No Offense, Short, Official Selection.

Amanda Rodriguez. Stories Happen in Forests, Documentary, Official Selection.

Sandra Munoz Alvarez. We’ll meet again, Wandsworth on Lockdown, Short, Official Selection.

Novera Hasan Nikkon. The girls are not brides, Documentary, Special Mention Award.

Cali Gilbert. INVISIBLE, Documentary, Short, Official Selelction.