2020 Grand Jury announced

BAFTA & EMMY winners, and luminaries from film, media, academia and sustainability grace the Grand Jury of the 2020 Big Syn International Film Festival.

Category: Press release | Date: October 27, 2020 | By: Big Syn Institute, London. UK.

Despite the menace of COVID-19, the Big Syn Institute has successfully organised the 2020 Big Syn International Film Festival in an even grander scale than the 2019 edition owing to three things;

  • The overwhelming participation from exceptional filmmakers from across the world bringing in over 400 entries from over 40 counties so far,
  • The tireless contributions of the committed team of volunteers who have so far donated over 50,000 hours of their time, working through different times zones, to bring the festival to fruition
  • And finally, the heartfelt support and faith in the mission of the festival, by the esteemed members of the 2020 Grand Jury.

A wide spectrum of well-decorated leaders from film, television, media, academia and sustainability comprise the 2020 Grand Jury. They bring with them years of experience, a diverse array of expertise, and a multitude of perspectives to be able to fairly judge the 2020 winners of the film festival.

The members of the Grand Jury of the 2020 Big Syn International Film Festival are as follows;

Emma Thomas. BAFTA award-winning Script Supervisor

Prof. André Singer. OBE. Emmy Award-winning Director & Producer | Anthropologist

Prof. Victoria Mapplebeck. BAFTA award-winning Writer, Artist, Director

Patrick Aryee. Wildlife TV Presenter | Digital Content Producer

Prof. Lyndsay Duthie. CEO.  The Production Guild of Great Britain

Prof. Ioannis Ioannou. London Business School | Global influencer – Sustainability leadership and CSR

Prof. Marion Schmid. University of Edinburgh | Film & literature

Gerardo Silano. Writer, Director, Producer

Susan Kemp. University of Edinburgh | Film, Exhibition & Curation

Find out more about the members of the Grand Jury here.

Entries are open until 30th October.  Official selections and winners will be screened online between 24th – 30th November 2020.


For media enquiries please contact the Big Syn Institute via this link.